Juice it Up

This weekend I did something a little different. As I was scrolling through past photos, I noticed how dark my hair had gotten since November. I had to do something about it so I tried lightening it up with a concoction I found on the internet. So smart right?

As I was looking through recipes to naturally lighten my hair I found one that used lemon juice so I decided to give it a try. I used two lemons in total and I squeezed them into 6ish cups of water. After I mixed the liquids together, I went outside and dumped it onto my hair, making sure no section was left dry. I then basked in the sun for 30 minutes before rinsing my hair out and going back to my day.

In the past, I have used lemon juice to lighten my hair with my friend Margaux. I think, no, I know, we diluted the lemon juice a little too much and our hair did not have any significant change to it. If I remember correctly, we did not spread the mixture across Margaux’s hair evenly enough so she had a couple streaky strands.

This time, however, my hair did get lighter! I’m so excited! The only complaint I have about using lemon juice is that it dried out the ends of my hair dramatically and I have been able to see my split ends a lot more clearly lately. If I were to do this again, I would most likely use coconut oil after washing out the lemon juice/ water mixture from my hair, and leave the oil on my ends for AT LEAST twenty minutes.

I would recommend using lemon juice to lighten your hair naturally but I would advise to not do it on a regular basis so your hair would not dry out like mine did. Everything is good in moderation as my Mom says. Also, lemon juice is a really cheep option compared to going to a salon and getting your hair professionally lightened. Salon’s are great, don’t get me wrong, I love them, this is just a super easy alternative option. Let me know in the comments if you give it a try!

Leave a Reply

